FrameMaker (v7.2 to 11): Unwanted items in the TOC

Problem

I have three unwanted items in my TOC. They appear on the TOC reference page and they are:

<$paratext> <$pagenum>

<$paratext> <$pagenum>

<$paratext> <$pagenum>

The first one is a ContentsTitleTOC.

The second one is a LOFTitleTOC.

The third is a LOTTitleTOC.

I don’t want “Contents” as an entry in the TOC; nor do I want “Figures” and “Tables” in the TOC. They are separate lists of items that appear at the beginning of the book immediately after the TOC.

How do I get rid of the three entries in the TOC Reference page and make the deletion stick? I would appreciate your counsel. Thanks in advance.

Solution

In your book, highlight the TOC file entry, right-click, and select Set Up Table of Contents…

On the left side of the dialog that comes up, click on the items you don’t want and move them over to the right side.

Then go to your reference page, highlight these same items there and delete them. You can leave them there if you think you might want to add them later and use the same formatting.

Leave a comment